Plant and Soil Sciences Faculty & Staff


  • Bais, Harsh

    Associate Professor of Plant Biology



  • Balascio, Carmine

    Associate Professor of Water Resource Engineering



  • Barton, Susan

    Professor and Extension Specialist, Ornamental Horticulture



  • Bruck, Jules

    Professor and Director of
    Landscape Architecture



  • Caplan, Jeffrey

    Associate Professor and
    Director, Bioimaging Center



  • Donofrio, Nicole

    Associate Professor of Plant Pathology



  • Ervin, Erik

    Chair and Professor, Turfgrass and Horticultural Systems



  • Evans, Tom

    Professor of Botany and Plant Pathology



  • Frett, John

    Professor and Director, University of Delaware Botanic Gardens



  • Fuhrmann, Jeffry

    Professor of Soil and Environmental Microbiology



  • Green, Pamela

    Unidel Crawford H. Greenewalt Chair
    Professor of Plant Molecular Biology



  • Inamdar, Shreeram

    Professor and Director, Water Science and Policy Graduate Program



  • Isaacs, Mark

    Assistant Professor
    Director of the Carvel Research and Education Center



  • Jaisi, Deb

    Associate Professor of Environmental Biogeochemistry



  • Jin, Yan

    Professor of Soil Physics and Environmental Toxicology



  • Johnson, Gordon

    Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist, Fruits and Vegetables



  • Koehler, Alyssa

    Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist, Plant Pathology



  • Lee, Jung-Youn

    Professor of Plant Molecular and Cellular Biology



  • Miller, Jarrod

    Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist, Agronomy



  • Rieger, Mark

    Professor of Horticulture and
    Dean of CANR



  • Seyfferth, Angelia

    Associate Professor of Biogeochemistry and
    Plant-Soil Interactions



  • Shober, Amy

    Associate Professor and Extension Specialist,
    Nutrient Management



  • Sparks, Donald

    Unidel S. Hallock du Pont Chair
    Director, DENIN
    Francis Alison Professor
    Soil & Environmental Chemistry



  • Sparks, Erin

    Assistant Professor of Plant Molecular Biology



  • Trammell, Tara

    John Bartram Assistant Professor of Urban Forestry



  • VanGessel, Mark

    Professor and Extension Specialist, Weed Science and Crop Management



  • Vargas, Rodrigo

    Associate Professor of Ecosystem Ecology and Environmental Change



  • Vasilas, Bruce

    Professor of Agronomy and Soil Management



  • Wik, Anna

    Assistant Professor of Landscape Architecture



  • Wisser, Randall

    Associate Professor of Plant Genetics



  • Wommack, Eric

    Professor of Environmental Microbiology and Deputy Dean of CANR


Joint Appointment Faculty

Adjunct Faculty

  • Zach Hammaker, landscape designer, ZH Design
  • Nicholas Jabs, landscape designer, Port Urbanism
  • Stephen Panasci, landscape architect, Sikora Wells Appel
  • Rodney Robinson, president, Robinson Anderson Summers, Inc. and principal,  Rodney Robinson Landscape Architects, Inc.
  • Stephen Streatfield, director R&D, Fraunhofer USA Center for Molecular Biology
  • Linda Walczak, principal, TEND landscape inc.

Affiliated Faculty

  • Gregory Binford, associate professor – National Director of Advanced Agronomic Training at Wilbur-Ellis
  • Anthony Buda, associate professor – USDA-ARS Pasture Systems and Watershed Management Research Unit
  • Nicole Fiorellino, assistant professor and extension agronomist – University of Maryland
  • Mingxin Guo, professor of soil and water science – Delaware State University
  • Jinjun Kan, professor – Stroud Water Research Center
  • Louis Kaplan, assistant professor – Stroud Water Research Center
  • Blake Meyers, professor – Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
  • Diana Oviedo Vargas, assistant professor – Stroud Water Research Center
  • Richard Pouyat, professor –National Program Leader for Air and Soil Quality Research, U.S. Forest Service
  • Hajime Sakai, professor – CEO, NAPIGEN, Inc.
  • Peter Zale, assistant professor – Associate Director, Conservation, Plant Breeding and Collections, Longwood Gardens

Former Faculty

  • Robert Carroll, emeritus professor
  • Charles Dunham, emeritus professor
  • Donald Fieldhouse, professor
  • David Frey, associate professor
  • Hugh Frick, emeritus professor
  • James Hawk, professor
  • Sherry Kitto, professor
  • Robert Lyons, emeritus professor
  • Allen Morehart, emeritus professor
  • Wallace Pill, emeritus professor
  • Thompson Pizzolato, professor
  • Myron Sasser, professor
  • Janine Sherrier, professor
  • J. Thomas Sims, professor and deputy dean
  • James Swasey, emeritus professor

Professionals

Accerbi, Monica Research Associate III (302) 831-4642 accerbi@dbi.udel.edu
Adams, Andrew Horticulture Manager  (302) 831-0909 aadamsud@udel.edu
Barba Ferrer, Josep Post Doctoral Researcher (302) 831-1388 jbarba@udel.edu
Bartz, William Greenhouse Manager (302) 831-3574 wcbartz@udel.edu
Budischak, Valann L B Extension Associate IV (302) 831-4188 valannb@udel.edu
Dums, Jacob Post Doctoral Researcher (302) 831-1353 jdums@udel.edu
Eby, Terra Program Coordinator, Cooperative Extension (302) 735-8137 terra@udel.edu
Ernest, Emmalea Associate Scientist (302) 856-7303 emmalea@udel.edu
Ferrell, Barbra Davis Research Associate (302) 831-0148 ferrellb@udel.edu
Fischel, Jason Post Doctoral Researcher (302) 831-2503 fischelj@udel.edu
Gartley, Karen Research Manager / Program Director, UD Soil Testing Program (302) 831-1385 kgartley@udel.edu
Green, Victor Associate Scientist (302) 856-7303 vmgreen@udel.edu
Gregory, Nancy F Plant Diagnostician (302) 831-1390 ngregory@udel.edu
Huang, Kun Post Doctoral Researcher (302) 831-0854 huangkun@udel.edu
Lekha, Chander Analytical Chemist (302) 831-8407 chander@udel.edu
Limmer, Matthew A Post Doctoral Researcher (302) 831-6210 limmer@udel.edu
Nagarajan, Vinay Associate Scientist (302) 831-3400 nagarajan@dbi.udel.edu
Ouslander, Noah Limited Term Researcher (302) 831-4670  noahous@udel.edu
Paller, Joe Lab Coordinator I (302) 831-8407  jpaller@udel.edu
Pautler, Maria Research Associate III (302) 831-0847 mpautler@udel.edu
Rechsteiner, Cindy Business Administrator II (302) 831-8153  cindyr@udel.edu
Riggi, Sydney Extension Agent (302) 856-7303 sydney@udel.edu
Rosier, Carl Lee Limited Term Researcher (302) 831-4900 crosier@udel.edu
Rubione, Claudio Limited Term Researcher (302) 856-7303 crubione@udel.edu
Sakhno, Yuriy Post Doctoral Researcher (302) 831-4749 ysakhno@udel.edu
Saran, Usha Research Associate (302) 831-3452 bishnoi@udel.edu
Scott, Barbara A Associate Scientist (302) 856-7303 bascott@udel.edu
Siebecker, Matthew Post Doctoral Researcher (302) 831-8435 mgs@udel.edu
Sun, Mingjing Post Doctoral Researcher (302) 831-5751 smj@udel.edu
Tingle, Shawn Research Associate II (302) 856-7303 tingle@udel.edu
Vollmer, Kurt Post Doctoral Researcher (302) 856-7303 kvollmer@udel.edu
Weldekidan, Teclemariam Scientist (302) 831-1381 tecle@udel.edu
Willey, Warren Research Associate I (302) 856-7303 wwilley@udel.edu
Zhuo, Zhu Limited Term Researcher (302) 831-2524 zzhuo@udel.edu
Zoehrer, Melinda Program Coordinator, Botanic Gardens (302) 831-0153 mzoehrer@udel.edu

Staff

Biddle, Susan Academic Support Coordinator (302) 831-2531 sbiddle@udel.edu
Brannen, Linda Administrative Assistant II (302) 831-2534 lbrannen@udel.edu
Connor, Allison Administrative Assistant II (302) 831-3409 amconnor@udel.edu
Dempsey, Rodney Horticultural Greenhouse Supervisor (302) 831-1374 dempsey@udel.edu
Turner, Kathleen Administrative Assistant II (302) 831-6378 kturner@udel.edu
Winkelmayer, Susan Administrative Assistant (302) 831-6161 swink@udel.edu